Mongo Santamaria - Watermelon Man

Mongo Santamaria

Watermelon Man

Released in 1963

The album was mentioned and played in a JazzrockTV episode. Check our this epiosde for the full coverage: JazzrockTV LIVE – Musik Fundstücke.
Playing this video will stream content via MUXX.TV from Vimeo according to the VIMEO data privacy policy.
muxx.tvYoutubeBecome a PatronDonate
Discogs Album Info:

1: Watermelon Man
Drums: Frank Hernandez (5), Kalil Madi
Percussion [Latin]: Joseph Gorgas, Kako (2), Osvaldo Martinez
Vocals, Effects: La Lupe, Osvaldo Martinez
Written-By: Herbie Hancock

2: Funny Money
Written-By: Victor Venegas

3: Cut That Cane
Written-By: Joe Zawinul, Larry Maxwell, Nat Adderley

4: Get The Money
Written-By: Marty Sheller

5: The Boogie Cha-Cha Blues
Flute: Mauricio Smith
Written-By: Pat Patrick

6: Don't Bother Me No More
Drums: Frank Hernandez (5), Kalil Madi
Percussion [Latin]: Joseph Gorgas, Kako (2), Osvaldo Martinez
Written-By: Bobby Capers

7: Love Oh Love
Written-By: Billy Myles

8: Yeh-Yeh
Written-By: Jon Hendricks, Laurdine Patrick, Rodgers Grant

9: The Peanut Vendor
Written-By: Marion Sunshine, Moises Simons, Wolfe Gilbert

10: Go Git It
Written-By: Bobby Capers

11: Bayou Roots
Written-By: Pat Patrick

12: Suavito
Flute: Mauricio Smith
Written-By: Johnny Pacheco, Senén Suárez

13: Guaguanco Mania
Written-By: Mongo Santamaria

14: A Little Dab'll Do Ya
15: Que Maravillosa
Written-By: Rudy Calzado

16: I'll Remember April
Written-By: Don Raye, Gene DePaul, Patricia Johnston

17: Afro Blue
Written-By: Mongo Santamaria

18: Mazacote
Written-By: Mongo Santamaria


Art Direction, Photography By: Jamie Putnam
Bass: Victor Venegas
Bongos: Mongo Santamaria
Compilation Producer: Eric Miller (6)
Congas, Drums: Mongo Santamaria
Design: Deb Sibony
Drums: Ray Lucas
Edited By, Transferred By: David Luke
Engineer [Original Recording]: Ray Fowler
Flute [Wooden]: Rolando Lozano
Flute, Saxophone: Bobby Capers, Pat Patrick
Liner Notes: Kathy Mackay
Percussion: Nicholas "Cuco" Martinez
Photography By [Cover Photo]: Tony Lane (2)
Piano: Rene Hernandez, Rodgers Grant
Producer [Original]: Larry Maxwell, Orrin Keepnews
Remastered By: Joe Tarantino
Tenor Saxophone: Jose "Chombo" Silva
Timbales: Willie Bobo
Violin: Pupi Legarreta
Vocals: Rudy Calzado


Recorded at Plaza Sound Studios (Track 1-12)
Recorded live at the Blackhawk in San Francisco; 1962 (Track 13-18)
Remastering, 1998 (Fantasy)

See full album info on

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Get our Newsletter

Let’s keep in touch and get informed about any new released episode.

Will be used in accordance with our Privacy Policy