Trilok Gurtu

21 Spices

Released in 2011

The album was mentioned and played in a JazzrockTV episode. Check our this epiosde for the full coverage: JazzrockTV #32 Rüdiger Baldauf Sommerfestival & CD Tipps.
Playing this video will stream content via MUXX.TV from Vimeo according to the VIMEO data privacy policy.
muxx.tvYoutubeBecome a PatronDonate
Discogs Album Info:

1: Peace Of Five
Soloist, Tenor Saxophone: Lutz Büchner
Tabla, Other [Basic 1]: Trilok Gurtu

2: 1-2 Beaucoup
Repinique, Djembe, Drums, Vocals: Trilok Gurtu
Soloist, Bass: Michel Alibo

3: Kuruk Setra
Soloist, Electric Piano [Fender Rhodes]: Władysław Sendecki
Tabla, Drums: Trilok Gurtu

4: Balahto
Cajón, Drums, Vocals: Trilok Gurtu
Soloist, Trombone: Klaus Heidenreich

5: Broken Rhythms
Soloist, Bass Clarinet: Frank Delle
Tabla, Kanjira: Trilok Gurtu

6: Jhulelal
Soloist, Drums: Simon Phillips
Soloist, Guitar: Roland Cabezas
Soloist, Tabla [Tablas], Djembe, Drums, Vocals: Trilok Gurtu

7: 21 Spices
Djembe, Drums: Trilok Gurtu
Soloist, Guitar: Roland Cabezas
Soloist, Tenor Saxophone: Lutz Büchner
Soloist, Trumpet: Stephan Meinberg


Alto Saxophone: Fiete Felsch, Peter Bolte
Arranged By: Carlo Cantini
Baritone Saxophone, Bass Clarinet: Frank Delle
Bass: Michel Alibo
Bass Trombone: Ingo Lahme
Conductor: Jörg Achim Keller
Design: Knut Schötteldreier
Drums: Simon Phillips
Executive-Producer [NDR Bigband]: Axel Dürr, Stefan Gerdes
Guitar: Roland Cabezas
Keyboards: Władysław Sendecki
Mastered By: Marko Schneider
Percussion: Marcio Doctor
Percussion, Vocals, Composed By: Trilok Gurtu
Photography By [Front & Back]: Gregor.kiosk
Photography By [Inside]: Gregor Lengler
Producer: Joachim Becker
Producer, Arranged By: Wolf Kerschek
Producer, Producer [Recording Producer], Mixed By: Walter Quintus
Recorded By: Michael Plötz, Peter Brandt
Recorded By [Assistant]: Jens Kunze, Martin Hansen, Michael Nebel, Uli Frost
Tenor Saxophone: Björn Berger, Lutz Büchner, Mathias Erlewein
Trombone: Dan Gottshall, Klaus Heidenreich, Stefan Lottermann
Trumpet: Ingolf Burkhardt, Philipp Kacza, Stephan Meinberg, Thorsten Benkenstein


Tracks 2, 4, 5, 6 & 7 recorded May 21st, 2010 at Drums 'n' Percussion Paderborn Festival at Heinz Nixdorf MuseumsForum Paderborn, Germany.
Tracks 1 & 3 recorded at NDR Studio Hamburg, Germany.
Mixed at Studio Zerkall, Germany.
Mastered at Skywalk Mastering / Imagion, Trierweiler, Germany.
℗&© 2011 Art Of Groove, a division of MIG-Music GmbH

See full album info on

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Get our Newsletter

Let’s keep in touch and get informed about any new released episode.

Will be used in accordance with our Privacy Policy