Hit The Rhodes Jack


Released in 2005

The album was mentioned and played in a JazzrockTV episode. Check our this epiosde for the full coverage: JazzrockTV #42 Rhodes and more (Part 1).
Playing this video will stream content via MUXX.TV from Vimeo according to the VIMEO data privacy policy.
muxx.tvYoutubeBecome a PatronDonate
Discogs Album Info:

1: Hit The Road, Jack
Electric Piano, Soloist: Unknown Artist

2: Web
Arranged By [Arrangement]: David Axelrod
Drums: Spider Webb (2)
Electric Bass: Carol Kaye
Electric Piano [Fender Rhodes]: Hampton Hawes
Saxophone, Flute: Jackie Kelso, Jay Migliori, William Green
Trombone: George Bohanon
Trumpet: Allen De Rienzo, Snooky Young

3: Mucho Chupar
Arranged By [Arrangement]: David Axelrod
Congas: King Errisson
Drums: Roy McCurdy
Electric Piano [Fender Rhodes], Synthesizer [ARP]: George Duke
Guitar: Don Peake
Saxophone, Flute: Jackie Kelso, Jay Migliori, William Green
Trombone: Dick Hyde, George Bohanon
Trumpet: Allen De Rienzo, Oscar Brashear, Snooky Young
Vocals: Gwen Owens, Olga James, Stephanie Spruill

4: Nana Das Águas
Electric Piano [Fender Rhodes], Vocals: João Donato

5: Low Rider
Bass: Gordon Edwards
Drums: Charles Collins
Electric Piano [Fender Rhodes], Synthesizer: Cedar Walton
Guitar: Cornell Dupree, Eric Gale
Percussion: Angel Allende
Percussion, Vocals: Mike Lipskin
Tenor Saxophone: Eddie Harris
Trumpet: Blue Mitchell

6: Jungle Strut
Acoustic Bass, Electric Bass: Cleveland Eaton
Congas, Drums, Percussion: Derf Reklaw
Drums, Tambura, Congas: Morris Jennings
Electric Piano [Fender Rhodes], Synthesizer [ARP]: Ramsey Lewis
Guitar: Byron Gregory
Horn [Arrangements]: Richard Evans (2)

7: Aragon
Arranged By [Arrangement]: Roy Ayers
Congas, Percussion: William King (6)
Drums: Dennis Davis
Electric Bass: Richard Davis (2)
Electric Piano [Fender Rhodes], Organ, Piano: Harry Whitaker
Guitar: Billy Nichols
Trombone: Garnett Brown, Wayne Andre
Trumpet: Cecil Bridgewater, Jon Faddis

8: North, East, South, West
Bass: Robert Kool Bell
Drums, Percussion: George Brown
Electric Piano [Fender Rhodes]: Ricky West
Guitar: Claydes Smith

9: Get Down Everybody
Arranged By [Arrangement]: Horace Ott
Backing Vocals: Maeretha Stewart, Patti Austin, Vivian Cherry
Baritone Saxophone: Artie Kaplan
Bass: Al Anderson (4)
Congas, Percussion: Leopoldo Fleming
Drums: Wilby Fletcher
Electric Piano [Fender Rhodes], Vocals: Lonnie Liston Smith
Percussion: Guilherme Franco
Tenor Saxophone: George Opalisky
Tenor Saxophone, Flute: Dave Hubbard
Trumpet: Joe Shepley, Jon Faddis

10: Valdez In The Country
Arranged By [Arranger], Producer: Arif Mardin
Bass: Willie Weeks
Drums: Ray Lucas
Electric Piano [Fender Rhodes]: Donny Hathaway
Guitar: Cornell Dupree, Keith Loving
Percussion: Ralph MacDonald

11: Sweet Vibrations
Arranged By [Arrangements]: Mike Lewis (7)
Bass: George "Chocolate" Perry
Drums: Ron Ziegler
Electric Piano [Fender Rhodes], Vocals: Latimore (2)
Guitar: Ron Peterson (11)

12: Sizzle Stick
Baritone Saxophone, Flute: Lew Del Gatto
Bass: Bob Babbitt
Drums: Rick Marotta
Electric Piano [Fender Rhodes]: Lonnie Smith
French Horn: Fred Griffin
Guitar: Jerry Friedman, Lance Quinn
Percussion: Jimmy Maelen
Producer: Sonny Lester
Tenor Saxophone: Joe Lovano
Trombone: Barry Rogers, David Taylor
Trumpet: Alan Rubin, Randy Brecker

13: The Stoker
Backing Vocals: Loretta Devine
Congas, Percussion: Kenneth Nash
Drums: Albert Heath
Electric Bass: Keith Hatchell
Electric Piano [Fender Rhodes]: Stanley Cowell
Guitar: Clifford Coulter
Lead Vocals: Charles Baker Fowlkes

14: The Last Stroke Of Midnight
Drums: Ed Greene (2)
Electric Bass: Wilton Felder
Electric Piano [Fender Rhodes]: Sonny Burke (2)
Flute: Jerome Richardson
Guitar: Lee Ritenour, Melvin "Wah Wah" Watson, Ray Parker Jr.
Percussion: Paulinho Da Costa
Saxophone: Ernie Watts, Jim Horn
Synthesizer, Producer: Lalo Schifrin
Trombone: Lew McCreary
Trumpet: Dizzy Gillespie, Jack H. Laubach, Oscar Brashear

15: Ziggidy Zag
Bass: Louis Johnson
Drums, Arranged By [Arranger]: Harvey Mason
Guitar: Gabor Szabo
Percussion: Ralph MacDonald
Producer, Electric Piano [Fender Rhodes]: Bob James
Rhythm Guitar: Eric Gale
Saxophone: Tom Scott (2)
Synthesizer: Ian Underwood
Trombone: George Bohanon
Trumpet: Jon Faddis

16: Butterfly
Congas, Percussion: Bill Summers, James Mtume
Drums: Howard King
Electric Bass: Paul Jackson (2)
Electric Piano [Fender Rhodes], Clavinet, Synthesizer: Herbie Hancock
Flute: Hubert Laws
Guitar: Ray Obiedo
Strings [String Ensemble]: John Bowen
Tenor Saxophone: Bennie Maupin
Trombone: Julian Priester
Trumpet: Eddie Henderson

17: The Hump
Drums: James Gadson
Electric Bass, Vocals, Handclaps: Charles Meeks
Electric Piano [Fender Rhodes], Clavinet, Vocals, Handclaps: Patrice Rushen
Guitar: Al McKay
Percussion: Bill Summers
Vocals, Handclaps: Josie James


Compilation Producer: Uwe Hager
Compiled By, Liner Notes: Michael Möhring
Cover: Knut Schötteldreier


Deep Jazz / Soul / Funk Rare Grooves
A Tribute To The Fender Rhodes Electric Piano
The Manifesto Of Groove - Vol. 8
Made in Germany
Comes in a twofold digipak with separate 24 pp. booklet.

The release title is an adaption to the [a600555]-written, [a30552] smash hit [r8720466].

This version has NO SID codes, for a version with see [r22063387]

See full album info on Discogs.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Get our Newsletter

Let’s keep in touch and get informed about any new released episode.

Will be used in accordance with our Privacy Policy