JazzrockTV #101 MSM Schmidt – Utopia

September 18th, 2015

Utopia is the amazing new release by MSM Schmidt. On his 5th album he collaborated again with Jimmy Haslip and Mitch Forman as Producers. Michael Schmidt visited us in Cologne and explains about creation and recording of the album.

He again features on his album a large list of excellent musicians like: Charlie Bisharat: violin, Rick Braun: trumpet, valve trombone, Till Brönner: trumpet, Vinnie Colaiuta: drums, Luis Conte: percussion, Barry Danielian: trumpet, Virgil Donati: drums, Brandon Fields: soprano, alto, tenor saxophone, Nicolas Fiszman: electric bass, Mitch Forman: producer, piano, synthesizers, Bruce Fowler: trombone, Walt Fowler: trumpet, flugel horn, Bob Franceschini: tenor saxophone, Clark Gayton: trombone, Wolfgang Haffner: drums, Jimmy Haslip: producer, electric bass, Randy Hoexter: synthesizer, Scott Kinsey: fender rhodes, synthesizer, Chuck Loeb: guitar, Jeff Lorber: fender rhodes, Eric Marienthal: alto saxophone, Mike Miller: guitar, Bob Mintzer: tenor saxophone, Oz Noy: guitar, Alan Pasqua: piano, Jeff Richman: guitar, Steve Weingart: synthesizer, Michael „MSM“ Schmidt: composer, programming, synthesizer.

Check out the MSM Schmidt Homepage for the full album details:

And order your copy of this Fusion Masterpiece: